RSS

Inspirational vistor

15 Aug

I was thinking about a visitor I had after my first surgery when I first had my colostomy (this is going back 25 years ago). I remember a very joyful woman coming into my room and exuberantly sharing that we had something in common. I could barely lift my head from pain and here she was just as happy as can be what could we have in common? It turns out she was a cancer survivor and she wanted to share her experience and encourage me to have hope for recovery. She was, in fact, very encouraging and maybe that brief visit was just what I needed that day.

I retell this story because I recently discovered a Facebook page of a very inspirational woman who reminded me of the visitor I had that day. Barbara, like my visitor, has no prior relationship with the people she visits at the hospital, but she does it out of a compassion for others. To many its inexplicable, but to the people who dedicate their time to visit cancer patients, children and/or hospice patients it’s unexplainable how life changing and rewarding it is.

“Barbara Taylor Vaughan is 89 and in the beginning stages of Alzheimer’s. She started a Facebook page to help chronicle her illness and put a face on Alzheimer’s. Barbara hopes educating others will inspire them to volunteer to help ease the suffering of those with the disease, families, caregivers. She recently shared a post chronically a story of when she belonged to a group that would sit with hospice patients that had no family or friends.” I would like to encourage you to check out her Facebook page and read this encouraging post.

“I expect to pass through this world but once. Any good therefore that I can do, or any kindness or abilities that I can show to any fellow creature, let me do it now. Let me not defer it or neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again.” ~William Penn

Dee Dee
Email Me: littledeet@yahoo.com
E-mail the techie behind the Chat With Dee Dee (Blog, Facebook & Twitter pages) who happens to be my daughter.

Disclaimer Chat With Dee Dee

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

  • Chat With Dee Dee Archive

  • Tweet With Dee Dee

  •  
