RSS

Colorectal Cancer Awareness Month March 2012

15 Mar

 If more than ½ of the diseases are preventable (diet, lifestyle, testing and early diagnosis), why aren’t we taking action?

First I WAS TOO SCARED: If I only knew signs of irregularity like bright red spots or dark “tarry” stools was a sign of blood in the stool. I didn’t notice the problem until I was literally bleeding with each bowel movement. This went on for quite some time and I was too embarrassed and too scared to go to a doctor.
Then I was TOO SCARED NOT TO SEE A DOCTOR:
The pain was so severe like a piercing knife through my spine I knew something was wrong. My gynecologist said to me the blood was too excessive and was going on for far too long and was certain it was not related to my nerves. He gave me the name of a proctologist to make an appointment for a colonoscopy and that’s how they found the polyp. As a result, my surgery warranted an irreversible colostomy. After enduring 22 radiation treatments only lasting 22 seconds each session, this surgery lead to an ileostomy, due to post-radiation burn and other post-surgery complications.  My doctor told me if I would have only come to him when the symptoms first occurred he could have removed the polyp and we would have avoided all the rest. If only there was a recall button.

 

TAKE ACTION, ask your primary care doctor for a Fecal Occult Blood Test (FOBT)[v] which can detect or prevent cancer long before the symptoms occur. Make your health a number one priority. You’re worth it and your family and friends are worth it!

If you are age 50 and older the prevent cancer foundation recommends the following screening[iii]:

  • Colonoscopy: Every 10 years
  • Virtual colonoscopy: Every 5 years
  • Flexible sigmoidoscopy: Every 5 years
  • Double-contrast barium enema: Every 5 years

Screening intervals for tests that mainly find cancer:

  • Fecal occult blood test (FOBT): Every year
  • Fecal immunochemical test (FIT): Every year
  • Stool DNA test (sDNA): Ask your health care professional

My body had brought me to a point that doing daily activities became too difficult because of the severe pain. I urge you to please take action and control of your health. Regular screenings will greatly increase the early detection of colon polyps which can ultimately SAVE your life!

With love and God’s Blessings,

Dee Dee Email Me: littledeet@yahoo.com E-mail the techie behind the Chat With Dee Dee (Blog, Facebook & Twitter pages)stephanie@gccrepair.com (who happens to be my daughter).

Disclaimer Chat With Dee Dee

 

Leave a Reply

  • Chat With Dee Dee Archive

  • Tweet With Dee Dee

  •  
