RSS

Love Your Body (Haves vs. Have-Nots)?

24 Oct

We read about body image and how we’re meant to love the skin we’re in. However, I haven’t read many articles about how body image impacts those facing post-cancer and post-raditation/chemo side-effects.

We’ve become more sensitive to those struggling with body image; however, what about those struggling with physical limitations. Can we be thankful for our bodies? How do we beat body image issues related to our limitations resulting from cancer?

What’s Driving Our Perceptions

The tendency is to view our body image through the eyes of what media might suggest as being beautiful. We focus on the ‘have-nots’ instead of what we have. We struggle with self doubt when we wake up and look in the mirror every morning.

Bottom line

We must remind ourselves this time was not promised to us. It’s true each day is a gift so let’s do the best we can with what we have by using all we have. Remember a time when pulling through a surgery or treatment was the most important goal. Now walk humbly and seek love and kindess towards others and also love and be kind to yourself.

We’ve all enjoy singing along to the popular lyrics from the song originated in the 40’s “You’ve got to accentuate the positive Eliminate the negative Latch on to the affirmative Don’t mess with Mister In-Between”.

The pertinent message conveyed in the song is still relevant to this day. Enhance the positive features, personality traits and gifts that you have going for you.

If we allow our thoughts to mess around with “Mister in-Between” we’re making an active choice aren’t we? I believe we are choosing to focus on the ‘have-nots’ instead of the beautiful ‘haves’ … the gift of LIFE!

You are beautiful my friend, you are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14)!

Haves or Have-Nots ..which side are you on?

 

One response to “Love Your Body (Haves vs. Have-Nots)?

  1. db1264

    October 31, 2011 at 3:04 pm

    Dee – I have moments where I go back and forth between loving my body and disliking my body, especially when I am sitting in the bathroom with a leaking bag. But, once I get past that part of the moment and have moved on, I feel better about things – my body, in general.

    For the most part though, I love my body and the fact that I am alive and am able to take care of my family and attend college online. I am doing well in college and look forward to continuing my education and receiving my degree in Sociology.

    Thank you for allowing me to share a small part of my life with you and your faithful readers.

    Donna

     

Leave a Reply

  • Chat With Dee Dee Archive

  • Tweet With Dee Dee

  •  
