RSS

Sunshine – Are you neglecting your emotional health?

04 Oct

I was talking with a friend the other day who is going through a difficult time and I couldn’t help but notice how dark and dreary it was in her home. The blinds and curtains were shut tight; not a drop of sunshine leaking in. I was  immediately reminded of a time when I first came home from one of my surgeries. It was all so overwhelming the lack of strength and will to do much of anything but sleep. Thankfully a friend of mine came to visit me during that time and counseled me about how something as simple as letting the light shine in my home would be beneficial to both my physical, emotional and spiritual recovery. 

She opened all of the windows in my home and pulled back the curtains and blinds. Wow this was truly another turning point in my healing.

I realized how by making the conscious decision to let the light in home I was also allowing the light of God and joy back into my life. I was reminded about the most important and powerful light of my life… Jesus!  John 8:12 “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”, John 9:5 “As long as I am in the world, I am the light of the world.” and John 12:46 “I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness.”

Maybe you’re going through a tough time and find yourself dwelling on the things that you can’t change. Remember the Lord will always be there to renew your strength. And by taking small steps every day (like allowing the light to shine through your windows) the light of the Lord will shine in your heart and life today.

So what a dear friend did for me a number of years ago I found myself doing with a friend recently and now sharing this with you. Together we opened all of her blinds and started to straighten up her rooms and it immediately felt like hope was pouring back into her home. It was a new start and a new day.

Power verse: Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. (Isaiah 40:30-31)

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

  • Chat With Dee Dee Archive

  • Tweet With Dee Dee

  •  
