RSS

Be anxious for nothing, Learning when it’s OK to tune in or tune something out

20 Sep

I received an e-mail forward titled “The Purple Hat” in honor of women’s history month and in memory of Erma Bombeck who lost her fight with cancer. I normally don’t read forwards but I decided to read this one and I’m glad I did because it was the gentle reminder I needed to put things into perspective. I’m learning as I get older to listen more and speak less. We don’t think often enough about the importance of tuning the things out that hinder our growth. Let me explain. I was a hair stylist by profession so I learned to tune out the sound of the blowdryer, radio or the stylest and client next to me. This skill has come in very handy in life. Just recently I was out with my youngest daughter and there was a noise that was really bugging her and I said to her why don’t you just tune it out and she said … how could I do that? When we learn to refocus our minds on something positive we can ignore the negative more easily.

I wanted to write about this topic because when we’re focusing on having ourselves, our homes and families in perfect order before we can start to live this often makes us way too busy for God and we end up missing out on His blessings. God doesn’t call us to be perfect; He calls us to be Godly women (Proverbs 31).

In the writings below by Erma Bombeck, she points out what she would have done differently in life after she found out she was dying from cancer. When I look at the list below I think about how critical it is to learn to tune out the negative chatter in our minds – I can’t have anyone over my home because my carpets are stained, my sofa is faded, my home is way too small especially in comparison to other homes I’ve visited. I need to go on a diet or I’ll just hold you back. But my friends we don’t have the luxury to wait for everything to be perfectly aligned in life before we can start living.

Prayer: Let’s look to Jesus to help us change our whole mindset: Dear Lord, Please give me a mind that is focused on you and others centered so I will not allow my insecurities to postpone my life any longer. I pray that YOU I will do whatever we could and should to take part in life that’s happening around us everyday.

Power Verse: Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:6-7)

The Purple Hat: IF I HAD MY LIFE TO LIVE OVER – by Erma Bombeck

I would have gone to bed when I was sick instead of pretending the earth would go into a holding pattern if I weren’t there for the day.
I would have burned the pink candle sculpted like a rose before it melted in storage.
I would have talked less and listened more.
I would have invited friends over to dinner even if the carpet was stained, or the sofa faded.
I would have eaten the popcorn in the ‘good’ living room and worried much less about the dirt when someone wanted to light a fire in the fireplace.
I would have taken the time to listen to my grandfather ramble about his youth.
I would have shared more of the responsibility carried by my husband.
I would never have insisted the car windows be rolled up on a summer day because my hair had just been teased and sprayed.
I would have sat on the lawn with my grass stains.
I would have cried and laughed less while watching television and more while watching life.
I would never have bought anything just because it was practical, wouldn’t show soil, or was guaranteed to last a lifetime.
Instead of wishing away nine months of pregnancy, I’d have cherished every moment and realized that the wonderment growing inside me was the only chance in life to assist God in a miracle.
When my kids kissed me impetuously, I would never have said, ‘Later… Now go get washed up for dinner.’ There would have been more ‘I love you, more ‘I’m sorry.’

With love and God’s Blessings,

Dee Dee

Email Me: littledeet@yahoo.com

E-mail the techie behind the Chat With Dee Dee (Blog, Facebook & Twitter pages) who happens to be my daughter.

Disclaimer Chat With Dee Dee

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

  • Chat With Dee Dee Archive

  • Tweet With Dee Dee

  •  
