RSS

HOPE: Sticking to Goals Despite Complications

30 May

Since I started blogging I’ve been blessed and have met some very wonderful people. Many of the people you’ll meet in the blogging social media community are very dedicated and driven and can be very helpful getting you noticed. Often they’ll give you suggestions, connect you with like minded bloggers and even offer to write about you on their blog or guest post on your blog. The problem with promises is life can get in the way even with those who have the best intentions. At times we’re all so busy or derailed it complicates the actual delivery and the promise fails to occur.


So how do we prevent over committing and letting others down especially ourselves?

I’ve always been very determined and driven. I believe my determination and will is a huge part of my fight and survival during my treatments and up to this very day. I’m also an extrovert, even as a child I was very high energy and outgoing. My personality is a very big part of my success throughout my life. I may have been an average student but I made sure that I made up for it and I applied myself in every other area to succeed. I was very involved in extracurricular activities. I have a big enough personality that I even joined a cultural club once to be a part of the fun and socializing in the group even though I didn’t speak the language. Let’s face it … I’m fun and enjoy life, in fact, that’s still my attitude today.

Now this is going way back to my youth but I remember this particular day very well. I was only 16 at the time and it was tryouts day for the majorette flag twirler squad. I had been preparing for this day for quite some time. I was a self taught and a very proud dual flag twirler with charisma and flare.  This tryout was very significant since I was aiming for the very important position of captain of the majorette squad. I had spent countless hours learning my routine and boy oh boy I had it down … I was more than ready. The only problem was when I woke up that morning I was in a tremendous amount of pain on my lower right abdomen. Despite the pain I knew the position meant the world to me so I decided not to tell anyone about the pain and go to the tryouts anyway. Probably not my best decision but I was very determined.

I did my hair, makeup and had high expectations that I was going get the captain’s position on the majorette squad. I knew I was good and I was ready to lead. One by one we all went up on the stage to perform our routines and as each girl went up my pain increased with more intensity. When I finally got up on the stage I was hoping my turn would go very fast but by this time the pain was so intense I knew I blew it. To my surprise and delight the band teacher was still very impressed with my routine and even though I didn’t make captain that day I was given the co-captain position. I was in pain but very ecstatic.

When my mom came home from work that night a lump had formed on my lower right abdomen so I decided to fess up and tell her about the pain. My parents took me to the doctor’s office and I was rushed to the hospital for an emergency appendectomy. The doctor told my family that my appendix actually ruptured in his hand when he removed it from me. Wow God’s hand was really with me that day.

I probably shouldn’t have gone to tryouts that day but I’m glad it worked out the way it did because my perseverance gave me the opportunity to do something I loved. I didn’t want to let myself down and I didn’t want to let my team down.

Same holds true with my mission in blogging. I am not concerned with number of connections as I am with real connections. It’s important to me that my stories reach others and encourage and offer hope. I’m also very happy when others share their stories with my bloggers since we all have something to share and you just never know who’s reading and when or what will impact someone and bring them  hope.

I truly believe without HOPE we can’t stick to our goals. Ask yourself this question… Are you being genuine to your goals despite the perception of others? Or have you compromised your mission to write about what’s popular or trending? I hope you’re sticking to goals despite life’s complications.

 Power Versus – God’s Promises:

  • But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. (Isaiah 40:31)
  • And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us. (Romans 5:5)
  • 21 Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: 22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. 23 They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. 24 I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.” (Lamentations 3: 21-24)

With love and God’s Blessings,

Dee Dee
Email Me: littledeet@yahoo.com
E-mail the techie behind the Chat With Dee Dee (Blog, Facebook & Twitter pages) who happens to be my daughter.

Disclaimer Chat With Dee Dee

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

  • Chat With Dee Dee Archive

  • Tweet With Dee Dee

  •  
