RSS

Sharing Our Story Helps Us Begin to Tackle Some of the Tough Questions Together

27 Mar

When I started blogging and sharing my story I had no idea the responses I would get or if I would get any. But I have been inspired, moved, honored and most of all I am grateful to learn from others. Others have entrusted me with their story and new friendships have started to grow.  

 
We all have seasons in life where we seem to be waiting for the answers to some of the tough questions we face and are asking ourselves, God and others …
  • WHY
  • WHAT IF
  • DOES ANYONE UNDERSTAND WHAT I’M GOING THROUGH?

I’ve wrestled with these questions myself and have brought them to the Lord but I don’t think we’ll ever have the right answers or be able to rationalize loss. I appreciate how Charles R. Swindoll profoundly responds to the WHY question by looking back at the book of Job and how he responded to adversity … “Through all Job went through and lost he did not sin nor did he blame God” (1:22). Swindoll rightly points out the more logical question of …Why didn’t Job respond with blaming God? What kept Job from bitterness or even thoughts of suicide?” The answer to these questions though it’s not simple by any means it is powerful and thought provoking. “He rested his adversity with God, not feeling forced to answer why. When we’re looking in all the right directions, we won’t take the wrong turn.” (Cited fromSeptember 25, 2010 blog post from Insight for Today).[i]

Have you ever really listened to others and though it’s likely something you’ve heard in the past BAM for some reason it hits you like a ton of bricks?

 I have to admit that sometimes when I’m sharing my story though it’s been a tough journey for me I wonder should I continue. Is my story so unique hasn’t it all been done or said before? I think about how so many people have been through a lot so why and how would God use my story.  

Sharing Our Story Helps Bond Us in Friendship

I attended a woman’s fellowship and speaking event recently and we were all very blessed to hear the powerful message “Unleashing the Beauty of Purpose” delivered by a wonderful speaker. The speaker began sharing that she wondered if what she had to share with others was worthwhile. After all she said so many other people had much more interesting stories to share than I. I know you’ve heard it before but I’ll say it again since its powerful and true … WE ALL HAVE A STORY TO SHARE AND WE ALL HAVE WISDOM TO IMPART.

The introduction to the speaker was very touching. The host did her research and gave a beautiful opening and overview to help us connect in a more personal way. She shared some flattering and heartwarming statements from the speaker’s husband that really helped us to bond.

The opening question from the host …. Share one thing about yourself that you like. Now for women this can be difficult since no one wants to appear self flattering or boastful but that wasn’t the point of the question at all. Our host reminded us that if we are to love others, we first must learn to love ourselves for the gifts God has given to us.  One by one we went around the room and the Holy Spirit allowed each woman to dig deep and find our ‘one thing’ we were thankful and blessed with. I’ll share a few with you.

  • A love for children
  • A heart for elderly
  • Empathy for others
  • A love of for people
  • A helping spirit

When we share our personal stories we are bonded in friendship not only by our likes and hobbies but true and deep friendships are rooted on sharing our experiences our joy, sorrows, the why’s and what if. Our personal story shapes us and makes us who we are and offers hope in coping with grief, give us inspiration and hope to continue.  

I want to encourage you to write to me if you need someone to share your story with and pray with (e-mail Dee Dee Click Here).  Since I believe everyone has a story to tell and we can all learn from each other, I would like to invite you to write a guest blog post sharing your story and/or tips with my blogging audience. I encourage you to read through my blog posts and if your message aligns with that of Chat With Dee Dee I would be honored to hear from you. It is my desire through my blog and outreach ministry to share my survival story to help others. AND a great part of my ministry and possibly the most rewarding is meeting others and hearing their story and learning tips and advice from others. I know we can collectively learn and benefit from eachother.

Memory Power Verse: “Letthe wordof Christ dwell inyourichly, teachingandexhortingone anotherwithallwisdom, singingpsalms, hymns, and spiritualsongs, all withgrace in yourheartsto God.” Col 3:16

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

  • Chat With Dee Dee Archive

  • Tweet With Dee Dee

  •  
