RSS

Part 6: Refusing to Quit – Colon Cancer Survivors are Fighters!

16 Feb

the God of the valley is the God of the Mountain

Some of the most important things I can share with you about my survival story is my fight to beat colon cancer and how it begins with our minds and hearts. The battles that we often come across in life are not easy, but life is such a gift. My mom was a dear woman and she taught me we had to fight and be strong. She use to say to me yes you have cancer but you must now pull yourself up by your bra straps and be strong and get well to take care of your children. My mom did worry for me but she wanted me to fight so that is the lesson she gave me that really stuck.

I know my drive and perseverance to fight was what helped me thank the Lord. You must make an active choice to fight for your life as I did. I often cry out to the Lord and especially when we are going through a very tough time it’s difficult to pray or think of scriptures but I would remember and want to share with you that the Lord refuses to quit on us. When we are too weak to pray the Holy Spirit intercedes with God’s will on our behalf (Rom. 8:26-27). That comforts me immensely and I hope that it will comfort you too.

I try to look at things with a grateful heart and know that life is so precious and I am truly grateful for the mercy of God. It’s easier to praise God when things are up and positive but the God of the valley is the same God of the mountaintop. Life may bring us through the valleys but He always brings us back to the mountaintop if we let Him.

After all I’ve been through I realize I had to go through the valley to stand upon the mountain with God.

If you are feeling or experiencing something similar, I’d love to hear from you. I didn’t have anyone who could relate to me at the time and I don’t want that for you.  Please send me an email or reach out to me via Facebook or Twitter.

Love and God’s Blessings,

Dee Dee

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

  • Chat With Dee Dee Archive

  • Tweet With Dee Dee

  •  
